Foundation for Regional Development ROMA - Plovdiv

Foundation ROMA in Stolipinowo ist eine Selbsthilfeorganisation der bulgarischen ROMA. Eine Gruppe von jungen und selbstbewußten Leuten rund um Anton Karagiosov kämpft für Gleichberechtigung und ein besseres Leben für unsere Familien. Die Stiftung versucht über europäische Förderungen und private Sponsoren die Lebensbedingungen in Stolipinowo zu verbessern.

Stolipinowo ist eines der größten Romaghettos in Südosteuropa. Es befindet sich nahe der mittelbulgarischen Stadt Plovdiv. Auf Grund der hohen Arbeitslosenrate von 90 % leiden die BewohnerInnen des Ghettos an vielfältigen Problemen, an Armut, Mangelernährung, schlechter Gesundheit, Bildungsdefizit und ständiger Diskriminierung durch die bulgarische Mehrheitsbevölkerung.

Wir engagieren uns in politischen und sozialen Fragen und zeigen dadurch eine starke positive Entwicklung im Ghetto auf. Ein Beispiel ist die Aufhebung der Segregation der Romaschulkinder. Mehr als 300 Kinder aus Stolipinowo besuchen derzeit öffentliche bulgarische Schulen.

http://plovdiv.techno-link.com/ClientsSites/romafon/ROMA.htm

Flaggen

Foundation for Regional Development ROMA - Plovdiv

Foundation ROMA in Stolipinovo is a self-help organisation of Bulgarian Roma. A group of young, self-confident people around Anton Karagiosov fight for equal rights and better lives for their families. The Foundation tries to bring up financial help from European organisations as well as private sponsors to improve the living conditions in Stolipinovo.

Stolipinovo is one of the biggest Roma ghettos in Southeastern Europe. It is situated in the central Bulgarian town of Plovdiv. Due to an unemployment rate of 90% the inhabitants of the ghetto face an abundance of problems: they are suffering from poverty, malnutrition, poor health and education and constant discrimination by the Bulgarian population.

By getting involved in political and social matters the Foundation represents the strong positive tendencies in the ghetto. One example: they have started to desegregate the ghetto schools and more than 300 children from Stolipinovo are now visiting regular Bulgarian schools.

http://plovdiv.techno-link.com/ClientsSites/romafon/ROMA.htm

Flaggen